Hillcrest High School Rowing Club – 2023-2024 Prizegiving Highlights

May 29, 2024

The 2023- 2024 rowing season has been filled with unforgettable moments, showing the dedication and growth of our remarkable athletes. We extend our sincere gratitude to the Hillcrest Rowing Club committee for their unwavering support throughout the year. Their commitment ensured our athletes were prepared to compete at their best, from organising logistics to providing essential resources.

A special thank you to Chairperson Darron Cutler, Team Manager Karen Higinbottom, Treasurer Dion Cawood, Secretary Natalie Coombes, and Member Dave Speed for their exceptional leadership.

We also acknowledge and appreciate the invaluable support of all parents whose dedication has contributed to the success of Hillcrest High School Rowing. Your efforts have been instrumental in shaping our program.

To our resilient and talented athletes, your achievements speak volumes about your commitment and dedication. Congratulations on a fantastic season!

Prize Winners – 2023-2024 

Chairman’s Trophy (Outstanding Service to Rowing): Karen Higinbottom

Rowers’ Rower – Boy: Abdu Esmaeil

Rowers’ Rower – Girl: Rowan Giles

Most Improved Returning Rower: Corbin Radford

Most Improved Novice – Boy: Quin Howard-Shi

Most Improved Novice – Girl: Antonia Shaw

The Barry Taylor Memorial Trophy (Most Valued Rower): Bria Duncan

Double/Pair Crew of the Year: Maddie Coombes / Rowan Giles

Coxswain of the Year: Bria Duncan

Rower of the Year – Oarswoman: Rowan Giles

Rower of the Year – Oarsman: Johnny Butler

Oarsome Oars – Long Service Award (4+ Years): Rowan Giles, Raetara David


We express our gratitude to the dedicated coaches who have played a pivotal role in training our athletes:

Novice Girls: Annabelle McRobie

Novice Boys: Liam Herder

Development Pathway – Girls: Georgia Allen

Development Pathway – Boys: Kamira Haggie

Head Coach: Blair Currie

Club Manager: Maleponi Vaioleti

Their expertise and guidance have been essential to the growth of rowing at Hillcrest High School.

Special Recognition:

As the 2023-2024 rowing season draws to a close, we bid farewell to four exceptional individuals who have been pillars of leadership and kindness within our rowing community. Bria Duncan, Maddie Coombes, Rowan Giles, and Raetara David, your contributions have left an indelible mark on Hillcrest High School Rowing, and we extend our heartfelt gratitude for your unwavering dedication.

Bria Duncan: As Captain for the HHS Rowing 2023-2024 season, Bria has exemplified exceptional leadership qualities, inspiring her teammates to strive for excellence both on and off the water. Her commitment to the sport and her teammates has been truly admirable, and we wish her every success in her future endeavours.

Maddie Coombes: Maddie’s dedication and passion for rowing have been evident throughout her time with us. As part of the Double/Pair Crew of the Year, Maddie has displayed remarkable teamwork and skill. We thank her for her invaluable contributions and wish her all the best in her future pursuits.

Rowan Giles: Rowan’s talent and determination have made her a standout member of our rowing community. As a recipient of multiple awards, including Rower of the Year – Oarswoman and Oarsome Oars – Long Service Award, Rowan has consistently shown excellence. We express our gratitude for her leadership and wish her continued success in her future endeavours.

Raetara David: Raetara’s love for rowing has earned her recognition with the Oarsome Oars – Long Service Award. Her presence and positive attitude will be greatly missed, and we extend our sincerest thanks for her contributions to our team.

As these outstanding individuals embark on new journeys, we carry forward the spirit of camaraderie, determination, and excellence that they have instilled within our rowing community. We are immensely grateful for their leadership, kindness, and contributions, and we wish them every success in their future aspirations.

Closing Remarks:

As we celebrate the achievements of the 2023-2024 season, let us carry forward the spirit of excellence, teamwork, and dedication into the future. Together, we have achieved remarkable success, and we look forward to continued growth and accomplishment in the seasons ahead.